Buffs Ready For Final Big 12 Championship

Browse By

CU Buffs XC

CU Cross Country

The University of Colorado cross country teams are ready for the 15th Annual Big 12 Championship on Saturday, October 30 at the Oklahoma State University Cross Country Course.

Admission is free to the public.

The women will start the day at 10 a.m. with the 6-kilometer run and the men will run the 8k at 11 a.m. A short awards presentation will follow with the top 15 individuals earning All-Big 12 honors.

This will be the final Big 12 championship for the Buffs who have a rich tradition of winning team and individual titles. The CU men have won 12 of 14 conference titles, while the women have taken 11. The Buffs have won 17 individual titles; the men taking eight and the women with nine. The last time a male won the conference crown was Brent Vaughn in 2007 and Jenny Barringer won the title last year.

This season’s top male has been Joe Bosshard. He won the Rocky Mountain Shootout and was seventh in the white race at the NCAA Pre-National meet. He has been named the CU Athlete and the Big 12 Runner of the Week. Bosshard raced to a 19th-place finish at the Big 12 meet last season.

The Buffs returned a large number from last year’s squad, including seniors Richard Medina and Matt Tebo. Juniors Christian Thompson and Andy Wacker have been making huge contributions to the team over the last two seasons. Thompson was named All-Big 12 in 2009 after placing ninth. Martin Medina and Aric Van Halen have also raced at the conference level and look to score points for CU.

Laura Tremblay has been CU’s top women’s scorer this season. She won the Rocky Mountain Shootout and placed second at the NCAA Pre-Nats in the ‘white’ race and was subsequently named the CU Athlete and Big 12 Runner of the Week. Tremblay earned her first All-Big 12 honor in 2009 by placing 15th overall at CU’s No. 4 scorer and looks to improve on that this season.

Laura Thweatt, the only senior on the team, will race in her last conference meet and has been a scorer for the team since joining the team as a freshman. She had her best outing at the Big 12 Championship last year, finishing 12th overall to earn her first all-conference honor.

Emma Coburn, Katie Cumming and Allie McLaughlin also raced in 2009. McLaughlin was the Big 12 Newcomer of the Year after finishing second behind Barringer. Coburn was 22nd and Cumming finished 33rd. Redshirt freshman Shalaya Kipp has played a big part this season, finishing second for the Buffs at pre-nats, 12th overall. Camille Logan and true freshman Rachel Viger have also been a part of this year’s success.

Both of CU’s squads placed second at the 2009 championship. The women were just 14 points outside of first with 52 total points, while the men were 32 points from the top of the podium (56).

The Buffs will have some tough competition as usual. Texas Tech has won the women’s championship the last two years. TTU is ranked No. 4.  Iowa State is ranked No. 11, Texas is No. 15 and OSU is No. 27. The men’s side also looks to be challenging. OSU, the reigning NCAA Champion, has won the last two conference titles and is ranked second in the nation. The Cowboys will have an advantage since the race will be on their home course. Oklahoma is No. 5 and Texas is the other nationally ranked opponent, coming in at 30th.

Following the conference championships, both rosters will be cut to seven over the next couple of weeks before the NCAA Mountain Region Championships, Saturday, November 13, in Salt Lake City, Utah, and the NCAA Championships, November 22, in Terre Haute, Ind.


Saturday, October 30

OSU Cross Country Course, Stillwater, Okla.

10 a.m. (CT) Women’s 6k

11 a.m. (CT) Men’s 8k

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *