Boulder’s Elite chosen for Team USA to compete in Bupa Great Edinburgh Cross Country

Browse By

Two of Boulder’s elite runners, Richard Medina and Addy Bracie, have been selected to compete with twenty eight other athletes for Team USA to race the 25th Bupa Great Edinburgh Cross Country race on Saturday, Jan. 11.

Taking place in the picturesque surroundings of Holyrood Park, Edinburgh U.K., the Bupa Great Edinburgh XCountry also features a Men’s International 4K and a mass participation 5k, the Bupa Great Winter Run, which will see around 2,500 amateur runners tackle a multi-terrain course ahead of the elite races. 2014 will be the 25th staging of the Great International XCountry event, which has featured some of the world’s best athletes since its inception in 1988.

The event will stream LIVE beginning at 8:15am ET on

Richard Medina, a former CU Buff standout now runs for the Champions League Athletic Performance, a newly formed running co-op in Boulder.

The Champions League AP took first place at USA Club Championships in Bend Oregon in December. Former Buffs Brent Vaughn lead the team with a 4th place finish, Medina took 6th, Kenyon NewmanMacklin Chaffee, and Zach Hine rounded out their top 5 scorers. Also running for C.L.A.P. are Martin Medina, Kurt Roeser, and Richard Hansen.

The cool thing about our group is with the exception of Macklin (Jay Johnson) and Zach (Brad Hudson), everyone is self-coached. So we are calling ourselves a running co-op of sorts because when we meet for workouts or long runs it’s more of a “ok so what were you guys planning on doing today”, stated Richard Hanson for Champions League AP.

The Champions League AP will be also be putting a team on the line at the USA Cross Country Championships in Boulder February 15.

Addie Bracie runs for HTS Elite whose team took third overall in the team competition in Bend. Bracie led the HTS Elite to a 3rd place win with teammates, Nicole Mericle, Maggie Callahan, Kara Lubieniecki, Alia Gray, Tera Moody, Sara Vaughn and Nicole Feest.

Team USA veterans Bobby Mack and Chris Derrick highlight the senior men’s selections alongside 2013 National Club Cross Country individual champion Joe Gray.

Full team announcement on

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *